MLC Elections On April 17; PDP-BJP To Win 4 Seats Atleast, NC-Congress Can Win 2

JAMMU: The Election Commission of India  is going  to hold biennial elections for six seats of Legislative Council on April 17.

Of six vacancies, National Conference MLC Dharamvir Singh Oberoi had passed away recently. Five other MLCs are Deputy Chairman, Legislative Council Jehangir Hussain Mir and Jugal Kishore Sharma, former Works Minister (both Congress), Dr Bashir Ahmad Veeri and Master Noor Hussain (both National Conference) and Yasir Reshi (PDP). 


Experts told Cross Town News that of the six seats falling vacant , PDP-BJP will sail through for 4 seats and can even win 5 seats , whereas NC Congress can win upto 2 seats.

Of three seats in Kashmir, PDP-BJP will win on 2 seats , whereas Congress-NC will retain 1 seat.


PDP-BJP win sail through the single seat of Poonch.

For two seats of Jammu, PDP-BJP will win 1 seat atleast, whereas for second seat if Independents vote for Congress-NC , then it  will be difficult for ruling coalition to win 2nd seat in Jammu.



Cross Town News is the no. 1 Weekly Newspaper and Online News Portal in J&K in term of serious News. The rugged Newspaper & Portal is with a substantial difference to read and presence to feel. This newspaper has a vision to deliver the real side of truth to the public . Since it’s inception in 2013 March, It has become No. 1 News medium for people of J&K. Cross Town News has a mission to deliver high quality news across the nation within fraction of time.

Subscribe Now

Subscribe to our weekly Newsletter.